top of page

Upon reflection re: Learning Manifesto



I was re-reading my Learning Manifesto to reflect on what I had written. Assisting my students to develop a growth mindset and creating an environment where effort counts are still the cornerstones of my learning manifesto. Combating the negative self defeatist attitudes I sometimes encounter in foreign language learning is by far the hardest obstacle to overcome. Giving students small, achievable goals, can help bolster self-confidence as they climb the steps to foreign language acquisition. I think this is why I favor content gamification applications like Duolingo, Quizziz and Kahoot. The applications provide students with an enjoyable learning experience that help bolster their self confidence and in some cases bring out their competitive natures. In some cases I have witnessed students demonstrating mastery of a topic without even realizing it. John Seely Brown mentioned that hard core gamers think that if they aren’t learning it isn’t fun. (2010)


I mentioned in my Learning Manifesto that his group of students is unlike the students of my day (1980s). Where we barely had access to computers, today’s students are considered digital natives and are connected 24/7.Children are introduced to technology early on by a parent or influential adult in their lives. They aren't inherently born with this knowledge; rather, they are exposed to it during their formative years. (2010) Given how rapidly children learn at a young age, they quickly grasp the intricacies of using technology.


So how do we as teachers keep up with the latest technology? How do we continue to make lessons interesting and engaging? It’s time school districts address the need for teachers to have ongoing technology training. Things have to change at a fundamental level to keep up with the demands of today’s students. My hope is that I can do my part and that others will follow.


References:


Gironella, F. (2023). Gamification pedagogy: A motivational approach to student-centric

course design in higher education. Journal of University Teaching & Learning Practice.

Szabó, F., & Kopinska, M. (2023). Gamification in Foreign Language Teaching: A Conceptual Introduction. Hungarian Educational Research Journal, 13(3), 418–428.

YouTube. (2010, December 1).


Rethinking learning: The 21st Century learner | macarthur foundation. YouTube.


Comments


IMG_9205 (1)_edited_edited.jpg

Thank you for visiting. I hope you found something valuable in my blog. If you have any comments or topics you'd like me to discuss, feel free to send me a message.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page