top of page

The Cova Learning Approach



  • How might the COVA learning approach impact your learning in the Ed Tech/ADL program?


“ADL students learn how to purposefully assemble all the key components of effective learning and create their own significant learning environments that will then, in turn, help their learners to learn how to learn.”  http://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=8517 


Choice Ownership and Voice through Authentic learning opportunities (COVA)


The COVA approach has already impacted my learning in the program. Although I have created a technology rich environment in my classroom, I have not implemented a COVA protocol. Prior to enrolling in this program, I thought that adding technology to my classroom was all there was to it. After reading several articles and starting to read required texts, I realize that adding technology to my classroom isn’t enough. I need to create an environment where COVA becomes part of a blended classroom environment.


  • Does the COVA model appeal to you and could this work toward fixing the issues identified with traditional didactic models of teaching and learning?

 The COVA model appeals to me because it provides an alternative to the traditional method of teaching foreign language in the classroom. COVA would work well in a blended learning environment where students engage with the teacher and classmates to learn a foreign language and then at their own pace, they engage in online learning that will later be a subject in the classroom.  


  • What part of the COVA learning approach might challenge you the most?


I teach elementary and middle school foreign language. The elementary curriculum works well in a blended environment. Students are thriving a learning. The online component shows progress and a bit of competitiveness among the students. The middle school curriculum currently does not have an online component. We use Google Classroom but that isn’t a teaching aid. In 5305, I proposed adding a technology/online component to my curriculum.  There are a few challenges I think I will encounter. One challenge will be getting the students to willingly participate in off-site learning. Second, some students may not have technology at home available to them. Third, students may not prioritize this approach. And fourth, how to measure progress and grade students if they are progressing at different rates. 


  • Which part(s) do you perceive as beneficial? What resources (content, video, media, etc.) might you use to help you develop your own voice in your ePortfolio?

Overall, adding a technology component to the curriculum and creating a blended classroom will benefit everyone involved. Researching the benefits of adding an online component to the classroom would give me more confidence in developing a blended curriculum. I am choosing to add DuoLingo for Classrooms to my curriculum. Learning what the program has to offer is essential in building the program. 


  • How might you develop a sense of learner agency as part of this approach to learning?


I'm taking ownership of my understanding and learning about new methods to employ in my classroom. I can control how much and when I can do the research and then apply what I've learned in my classroom. I’ll be able to apply strategies as I learn them and discard them if they don’t work. If they do work, I will be able to weave them into my lessons going forward. 


  • Consider the role that COVA plays in the Learner's Mindset. Do you have a Learner's Mindset? If not, what can you do to adopt it, and if so how can you improve it?


I think I do have a learner’s mindset. After 5 years of teaching, I still consider myself new to the profession. I’m constantly learning new methods to use in my classroom. The best ideas I’ve come across are from watching other teachers. Applied technology and a blended classroom aren’t all that prevalent in the classroom right now. I hope to learn what I can, apply it and then teach it to other teachers who are open to the concept.

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
IMG_9205 (1)_edited_edited.jpg

Thank you for visiting. I hope you found something valuable in my blog. If you have any comments or topics you'd like me to discuss, feel free to send me a message.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page