top of page

The Benefit of Networking




Teaching has been a fantastic journey for me, especially considering it's my second career. I find immense joy in using all aspects of my personality, creativity, and intellect in this profession. Teaching Spanish was a natural fit for me due to my previous experiences relying on language expertise.

Interestingly, when I was initially considering teaching, foreign language instruction wasn't even on my radar. A seasoned teacher advised me to substitute in various grades and subjects that piqued my interest before making a final decision. However, as fate would have it, I accidentally ended up substituting at a middle school and discovered my affinity for interacting with middle school students. This led me to take on more jobs at that specific school. Eventually, I received a frantic call asking if I spoke Spanish, and that marked the beginning of my journey teaching Spanish.

My mentor, when I started teaching Spanish at the middle school, emphasized the importance of joining two key groups: the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Language (ACTFL) and the Texas Foreign Language Association (TFLA). These associations offer invaluable education, leadership, vision, and support to language educators. Being a member has opened doors to educational opportunities and provided crucial support for teachers like me.

After a year of teaching, the Covid pandemic hit, and we had to quickly adapt to delivering engaging and effective lessons online. We transitioned from traditional classroom teaching to fully online and eventually settled into a blended learning format. This experience revolutionized my teaching style, and now, I can't imagine going back to traditional methods. Technology has become an integral part of my lessons, with Google Slides being my primary tool for classroom presentations, and DuoLingo adding an interactive element to our routine.

Continual improvement is key in education, so I'm always on the lookout for new ideas to enhance my lessons and engage my students. This involves constant research, scouring platforms like Pinterest and YouTube, and listening to podcasts during my commute. Some of my favorite podcasts include "World Language Classroom" with Joshua Cabral, "Growing with Proficiency," "Blended Learning in Action," and "Technology in the Classroom."

While I haven't contributed significantly to the online groups I've joined, I've been an eager learner, absorbing ideas and staying updated on new technologies, issues, and advice related to incorporating technology in the classroom. Some of the Facebook groups I'm part of include "Technology for World Language Teachers," "World Language Teachers Lounge," "New Technologies in the World Language Classroom," and "Technology Based Gamification in the World Language Classroom." These communities serve as valuable resources for educators like me, fostering collaboration and innovation in teaching practices.

コメント


IMG_9205 (1)_edited_edited.jpg

Thank you for visiting. I hope you found something valuable in my blog. If you have any comments or topics you'd like me to discuss, feel free to send me a message.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page