top of page

Reflection on my learning manifesto



Reflecting on my original Learning Manifesto post now, I can see how my views have evolved, especially in terms of embracing the concept of voice in authentic learning. Initially, my focus was primarily on combating fixed mindsets and integrating technology to enhance the learning experience. While these aspects remain crucial, I now realize the importance of empowering students to find their voice and share their authentic learning journeys.


In the past, my emphasis was on effort, repetition, and utilizing technology for engagement and immediate feedback. While these strategies are effective, I now understand that they are part of a broader narrative. Voice in authentic learning goes beyond effort and technological tools; it encompasses the students' personal stories, insights, and perspectives.


I have come to appreciate that creating a significant learning environment involves not only providing opportunities for redoing assignments or using gamification apps but also encouraging students to reflect on their growth, strengths, and areas for improvement. Voice in ePortfolios allows students to showcase their authentic learning experiences, which in turn fosters a sense of ownership, pride, and confidence in their abilities.

Moreover, my understanding of teaching Digital Natives has deepened. While technological advancements are vital, they are a means to an end rather than the end itself. The true essence lies in how technology can amplify students' voices, facilitate meaningful connections, and promote a love for learning.


As I continue on my educational journey, I am committed to integrating voice in authentic learning into my teaching philosophy. This means not only embracing technology and innovative strategies but also valuing each student's unique voice, experiences, and contributions. It's about creating a learning environment where every student's voice is heard, valued, and celebrated, ultimately leading to a more enriching and transformative educational experience.


Reference:


Harapnuik, D., & Thibodeaux, T. (2023). COVA: Inspire learning through choice, ownership, voice, and authentic experiences. Learner's Mindset Publishing


Artwork created using with AI

Comments


IMG_9205 (1)_edited_edited.jpg

Thank you for visiting. I hope you found something valuable in my blog. If you have any comments or topics you'd like me to discuss, feel free to send me a message.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page