top of page

ePortfolio getting started



Shifting focus has become a theme in my professional life so it seems s appropriate that my interests in digital technology in the classroom is also about shifting focus from a content delivery method to finding more authentic learning opportunities not just for my students but also for myself. In Dr. Harapnuik's videos on Change in Focus, he mentions that we need to focus on creating significant learning environments. He's not calling for a revolutionary change in the traditional ways in which we teach but instead he states a need to make adjustments to move our educational system into the information age and the way to do it is by changing our focus. The process of backward design makes sense when focusing on real world authentic learning opportunities so that students can realize their learning potential. This is in stark contrast to the traditional information transfer model that we were all taught as the only method to impart information to our students. Shifting focus to keep up with the digital work makes sense and we all can contribute by slowly shifting our focus. It makes sense that part of the learning process in the ADL course is to create an ePortfolio to showcase what I have learned and how I learned it.


References: 

Harapnuik, D., Learner's Mindset (upload date unknown). Change in Focus Part A and B, [Videos] https://youtu.be/1ZMVDcIEhMw?si=D8VTETsqUFTc-oCwhttps://www.harapnuik.org/ and https://youtu.be/WKRgsQh2Uek?si=0XbPe1ZQHuFa8Mfr


Comments


IMG_9205 (1)_edited_edited.jpg

Thank you for visiting. I hope you found something valuable in my blog. If you have any comments or topics you'd like me to discuss, feel free to send me a message.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page