top of page

How QTalk improves learning and interaction in the elementary classroom

Let's talk about QTalk, a unique method for teaching languages that I've been using in my elementary Spanish classes this year. It's all about using icons and images to teach words and sounds, making the learning process fun and engaging.


Instead of traditional teaching methods, QTalk takes a different route. It lays out subjects, verbs, and objects in their proper syntax order, with images side by side. This helps students learn sentence structure in a natural, enjoyable way. And the best part? Students start speaking right away, thanks to the intuitive symbols placed alongside each other.

Now, I'll admit, when I first heard about QTalk, I was a bit skeptical. It was a departure from what I was used to. But after teaching it for several months, I'm a true believer. The progress my students have made is incredible.


What's great about QTalk is that even kindergartners, who are just beginning to read, thrive with this method. They don't need to read words; they can simply associate a word with its meaning through the images. Of course, they do learn to write too, but being able to read and speak a foreign language at such a young age is a major win.


One of the perks of QTalk is the online games available for students to practice their language skills. Sure, it takes a bit of time to get the younger ones familiar with logging on, but the results are totally worth it. They love the games, and it brings out their competitive spirit. They compare levels and even help each other out.


I highly recommend QTalk to other foreign language teachers working with young children. The results will amaze you, and it's a refreshing change from traditional teaching methods.



References:

QTALK. (2019, April 19). TED Talk: Let our pictures do the talking | Maurice Hazan [Video].




Comments


IMG_9205 (1)_edited_edited.jpg

Thank you for visiting. I hope you found something valuable in my blog. If you have any comments or topics you'd like me to discuss, feel free to send me a message.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page