top of page

Connecting the Dots


Image created by AI

Collecting dots or connecting them? The concept speaks to the traditional teaching approach that involves teachers providing students with bits of information to collect rather than immersing students in authentic learning experiences where they can connect concepts. The BHAG can shape the program's purpose, centered on the goal of facilitating these connections. Initially, defining these connections is crucial. Using Fink’s backward design approach involves determining the end goal first, then creating opportunities for students to forge meaningful connections through choice, ownership, voice, and agency in their learning.  Utilizing the "4 keys to building the learner’s conceptual framework" as outlined by Harapnuik, the program can offer students the foundational context needed for learning, and encompassing essential concepts. Moreover, establishing a significant learning environment will assist students in making connections that align with the program's overarching goal. Finally, supporting students through mentorship will facilitate their growth and comprehension. 


Implementing the requirement for ADL students to develop an ePortfolio not only tested their technical skills but also demonstrated COVA in action within the program. Students were given the freedom to choose the platform for their ePortfolios from a range of commonly used platforms. Although various platforms were discussed, no single one was favored, presenting the initial challenge in creating the ePortfolio. However, by selecting our own ePortfolio platform and configuring it according to our preferences, we took ownership of both the process and the final product. The ePortfolio also served as a platform for us to express our thoughts, perspectives, and vision of education, giving us a voice in the learning experience. This project provided an incredibly authentic learning environment as we navigated through challenges, watched instructional videos, engaged in peer discussions, learned from mistakes, and genuinely grew as learners.


I see myself as an independent learner. Whenever I encounter something unfamiliar, I seek out resources like videos or books to learn from. However, when it comes to my students, I observe that they are in the process of developing independence as learners. Reflecting on a recent project they've been engaged in, I believe it has been instrumental in fostering independent learning skills, embodying the COVA concept. While some of my students adapted to this approach quite naturally, a few needed additional encouragement to complete the assignment, which involved creating a comic strip using vocabulary and grammar learned this semester. This project is my way of helping them make meaningful connections in a fun, creative, and largely independent manner. 


 The knowledge I've gained from this program is always at the forefront of my mind as I develop meaningful lessons to guide my students in making connections. Every piece of information comes into play as I employ a backward design approach to lesson planning. This means starting with the end goal in mind and then determining the steps to reach it, making adjustments as needed along the way.


I feel like I'm just embarking on my learning journey. It could be because I sense there's still so much more to discover and understand. At this novice stage of my learning journey, having a mentor would be greatly beneficial.


Harapnuik, D. (2016) Collecting dots vs connecting dots. https://youtu.be/_7o3Jh1KZLw


Harapnuik, D. (2023) Mapping your Learners Journey http://www.harapnuik.org/?p=6420


Commentaires


IMG_9205 (1)_edited_edited.jpg

Thank you for visiting. I hope you found something valuable in my blog. If you have any comments or topics you'd like me to discuss, feel free to send me a message.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page